unik-id was appointed by the municipality of Bonheiden to make an artwork within the scope of “Kunst op straat” (art on the street). The artwork verWACHT(ing) is linked to Jeugddorp vzw, located in the municipality.

“Not everyone grows up in a safe family environment. In such a situation, an organization such as Jeugddorp can take care of and support children and young people on their way to independence.

In Jeugddorp children and young people grow up without the direct proximity of their parents, but they are surrounded by each other and they all care for each other.

Jeugddorp would have liked to see the artwork at the bus stop called “Gezonde Luchtlaan”. Here the children and young people are waiting for the bus that will transport them. At that bus stop there is a shelter which provides protection from bad weather conditions. With the artwork we make an analogy with the working of Jeugddorp. If the situation is no longer safe, there is a large house where people can go, where they can hide and find security.

That large house is originally white, it still needs to be embellished. We cannot determine for ourselves how it should be decorated because we do not live there. That is why we asked Branco to design a template. That template has a meaning for most children and young people staying in Jeugddorp. The scheme is that they adorn the house with the template. They can also depict their further trajectory by painting the template on the street.

The artwork bears the name verWACHT(ing), a reference to the location (travelers wait – ‘wacht’ in Dutch – for the bus), the expectations in life (‘verwacht’) and the anticipation (‘verwachting’). The hands in the logo offer protection and at the same time refer to the template designed by Branco. ”

We would also like to thank the youth and the supervisors of Jeugddorp, the municipality of Bonheiden, especially the cultural department and the technical service for the preliminary works, and De Lijn. Furthermore, our thanks to Maarten Schaubroeck for the elaboration of the artwork and to Branco for the design of the template.

unik-id a été désigné par la commune de Bonheiden pour élaborer une oeuvre d’art dans le cadre de « Kunst op Straat » (art dans la rue). L’œuvre verWACHT(ing) est associée à l’asbl Jeugddorp située dans la commune.

«Tout le monde ne grandit pas dans un environnement familial sain. Dans une telle situation, une organisation telle que Jeugddorp peut prendre en charge et accompagner les enfants et les jeunes sur le chemin de l’indépendance.

À Jeugddorp, les enfants et les jeunes grandissent sans la proximité directe de leurs parents, mais ils sont entourés et prennent soin les uns des autres.

Jeugddorp aurait aimé voir l’œuvre à l’arrêt de bus qui porte le nom « Gezonde Luchtlaan ». Les enfants et les jeunes y attendent le bus. À cet arrêt de bus, il y a un abri où les usagers se mettent à couvert des intempéries. Avec l’œuvre, nous faisons une analogie avec le travail de Jeugddorp. Quand une situation n’est plus saine, il existe une grande maison où l’on peut se rendre, s’abriter et se sentir en sécurité.

Cette grande maison est au départ blanche, il faut encore l’agrémenter. Nous ne pouvons pas déterminer par nous-mêmes comment y pourvoir, car nous n’y vivons pas. C’est pourquoi nous avons demandé à Branco de concevoir un modèle pour un mochoir. Ce modèle a une signification pour la plupart des enfants et des jeunes séjournant à Jeugddorp. Notre dessein est qu’ils décorent la maison avec le pochoir conçu. Ils peuvent également rendre leur parcours à venir en peignant le modèle dans la rue.

L’œuvre porte le nom verWACHT(ing) ,une référence à l’emplacement (on y attend – wacht en néerlandais – le bus), aux certitudes dans la vie (verwacht) et aux attentes (verwachting). Les mains dans le logo offrent une protection et réfèrent également au modèle conçu par Branco. »

Merci aux jeunes et aux encadrants de Jeugddorp, à la commune de Bonheiden, en particulier au service culturel et au service technique pour les travaux préliminaires, et à la société De Lijn. En outre, nous remercions Maarten Schaubroeck pour l’élaboration de l’œuvre et Branco pour la conception du modèle pour le pochoir.